Dr. Charalambos Neophytou


                  
e-mail: charalambos.neophytou(at)boku.ac.at

phone: +43 / 1 / 47654 - 91335
fax: +43 / 1 / 47654 - 91309

Institute of Silviculture (Institut für Waldbau)
Department of Forest- and Soil Sciences
BOKU - University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna
A-1190 Wien, Peter Jordanstr. 82

room: 02/128 (Schwackhöferhaus, 2nd floor)

Dr. Charalambos Neophytou

…works since July 2016 as a university assistant at the Institute of Silviculture.

His research topics include evolutionary and population genetics, as well as forest tree breeding. So far, his work has been focused on spatial and temporal changes of genetic variation under the influence of evolutionary mechanisms and human activities. Moreover, he has worked on practice oriented projects dealing with provenance identification based on molecular markers and provenance research by means of common garden experiments.

Dr. Neophytou received his Diploma in Forestry and Environmental Sciences at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki. Subsequently, he moved to Freiburg for further studies. He submitted his doctoral thesis at the University of Freiburg on the topic of genetic differentiation and hybridization between species of oak. He then worked as a research assistant in various research projects of the Forest Research Institute of Baden-Wuerttemberg (FVA-BW). For his research during the doctoral thesis and afterwards, Dr. Neophytou received in 2013 the Thurn and Taxis Award for forestry.

At BOKU he is involved in research and teaching. His current research deals with genetic variation and origin identification of Central European forest stands of Douglas-fir within the project "Climatic change and Douglas fir in Austria" (CC-Douglas).

                                        

BOKU - Research Information System (FIS)

further information about Charalambos Neophytou
visit our "BOKU - Forschungsinformationssystem (FIS)"

Dr. Charalambos Neophytou


                 
e-mail: charalambos.neophytou(at)boku.ac.at

Tel: +43 / 1 / 47654 - 91335
Fax: +43 / 1 / 47654 - 91309

Institut für Waldbau
Peter Jordanstr. 82
A-1190 Wien

Zimmer-Nr.: 02/128 (Schwackhöferhaus)

Dr. Charalambos Neophytou

…ist seit Juli 2016 als Universitätsassistent im Institut für Waldbau tätig.

Seine Forschung umfasst die Bereiche der Evolutions- und Populationsgenetik sowie der Züchtung von Waldbaumarten. Im Mittelpunkt seiner bisherigen Forschungsaktivitäten standen Fragen der zeitlichen  und  räumlichen Veränderung genetischer Variation in den Waldbaumpopulationen unter dem Einfluss natürlicher Evolutionsmechanismen sowie des Menschen. Des Weiteren befasste er sich mit praxisnaher Forschung mit Schwerpunkten auf der Herkunftsidentifikation basierend auf molekulargenetischen Markern und der Herkunftsforschung mittels Feldversuche.

Dr. Neophytou absolvierte sein Diplomstudium der Forst- und Umweltwissenschaften an der Aristoteles-Universität von Thessaloniki und anschießend promovierte er an der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg zum Thema "Genetische Differenzierung und Hybridisierung zwischen Eichenarten". In der Folge arbeitete er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten der Forstlichen Versuchs- und Forschungsanstalt Baden-Württemberg (FVA-BW). Für seine Forschungsarbeit während der Doktorarbeit und danach erhielt Dr. Neophytou im Jahr 2013 den Thurn und Taxis Förderpreis für die Forstwissenschaft.

An der BOKU ist er in Forschung und Lehre tätig. Seine aktuelle Forschungsarbeit konzentriert sich auf die genetische Variation und Herkunftsidentifikation mitteleuropäischer Douglasienbestände im Rahmen des Projekts "Climatic change and Douglas fir in Austria" (CC-Douglas).

                         

BOKU - Forschungsinformationssystem

weitere Informationen zu Charalambos Neophytou
finden Sie im Forschungsinformationssystem (FIS)