Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Werner Rammer


                
e-mail: werner.rammer(at)boku.ac.at

phone: +43 / 1 / 47654 - 91328
fax: +43 / 1 / 47654 - 91309

Institute of Silviculture (Institut für Waldbau)
Department of Forest- and Soil Sciences
BOKU - University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna
A-1190 Wien, Peter Jordanstr. 82

room: 02/110 (Schwackhöferhaus, 2nd floor)

Werner Rammer

The work of Dr. Werner Rammers at the institute of silviculture orbits around the modeling and simulation of forest ecosystems. Specifically, his interest aims at general forest ecosystem dynamics and its interaction with climate change and disturbances, and with the human system.

He combines an education at (BOKU) with a solid background in computer science, thus allowing him to link the natural with the digital world. Besides contributing to several EU- and nationally funded research projects (e.g. MOTIVE; ARANGE, FunDivEUROPE, EFORWOOD ), his main work is the development of ecosystem models. Together with Rupert Seidl, Werner created the individual-based forest and landscape and disturbance model iLand, taking individual trees and disturbance dynamics to the landscape scale. Moreover, he was the lead technical developer of the forest ecosystem model PICUS. A further focus is to contribute to developing decision support systems (e.g., AFM-Toolbox). His PhD thesis (abstract) covers the development and application of a coupled rockfall- and forest simulation model.

Werner Rammers current research focuses on natural disturbance regimes and their impacts on ecosystem services under climate change. A particular interest is coupling human and natural systems by developing an agent based model of climate change adaptation in forest management.

                                  

BOKU - Research Information System (FIS)

further information about Werner Rammer
visit our "BOKU - Forschungsinformationssystem (FIS)"

Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Werner Rammer


                    
e-mail: werner.rammer(at)boku.ac.at

Tel: +43 / 1 / 47654 - 91328
Fax: +43 / 1 / 47654 - 91309

Institut für Waldbau
Peter Jordanstr. 82
A-1190 Wien

Zimmer-Nr.: 02/135 (Schwackhöferhaus)

Werner Rammer

Der Schwerpunkt von Dr. Werner Rammer am Institut für Waldbau ist das Modellieren und Simulieren von Waldökosystemen. Das Hauptinteresse hierbei ist die natürliche Ökosystemdynamik und der Einfluss von Klimawandel und Störungen, aber auch Interaktionen mit der menschlichen Sphäre.

Werner verbindet einen naturwissenschaftlichen BOKU-Abschluss mit einem fundierten IT Hintergrund und arbeitet an der Nahstelle von analoger und digitaler Umwelt. Neben Beiträgen zu einer ganzen Reihe von EU- als auch nationalen Projekten (z.B. MOTIVE; ARANGE, FunDivEUROPE, EFORWOOD), liegt die Haupttätigkeit in der Entwicklung von Waldökosystemmodellen. Zusammen mit Rupert Seidl, entwickelt Werner das Individuen basierte Landschafts- und Störungsmodell iLand. Außerdem war er technischer Hauptentwickler des Waldökosystemmodells PICUS. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Entwicklung von Entscheidungshilfesystemen (z.B. die AFM-Toolbox). Seine Promotionsarbeit war die Entwicklung und Anwendung eines gekoppelten Steinschlag- und Wald- Simulationsmodells zur Bewertung von Schutzwäldern (Abstract).

Der aktuelle Forschungsfokus sind das natürlich Störungsregime und sein Einfluss auf Ökosystemleistungen unter Berücksichtigung von Klimawandel. Ein besonderes Interesse ist Einbeziehung von Waldbewirtschaftung bei der Entwicklung eines agenten-basierten Modells der Klimawandelanpassung. 

                           

BOKU - Forschungsinformationssystem

weitere Informationen zu Werner Rammer
finden Sie im Forschungsinformationssystem (FIS)