about us


Forests cover about 33% of the European land area and are the main land use form in Austria (47.6%). Society demands various forest ecosystem services, which may be summarized as economic, protection, welfare and recreational functions of forests. Forests play a major role in the current climate change debate since they are directly affected by changing climatic conditions but also mitigate climate change effects. Without forests, the global CO2 concentration would be 30 % higher than it is today. Forests products are considered as a renewable resource and greenhouse gas emissions are avoided, if forest products substitute fossil-based materials and energy.

The term sustainability introduced by the forester Hans Carl von Carlowitz in the early 18th century was primarily related to sustainable production of timber. Today forest management aims at the sustainable provision of multiple demanded products and services. Silvicultural practices are employed to maintain forests in desired states or to steer forests towards desired conditions. These potentially conflicting demands are implemented through silvicultural practices or forest management activities integrating forest data with models concepts at different spatial as well as temporal scales.

The Institute of Silviculture at the BOKU University of Natural Resources of Life Sciences in Vienna is the only academic institution at University level in Austria, which is active in research and teaching forest management. Within the BOKU key expertise “land use and terrestrial ecosystems”, the Institute of Silviculture develops forest management concepts to accommodate the demands of society by integrating ecological, technical and socio-economic drivers. Our work links research with stakeholder interests represented by forest enterprises, policy makers, nature conservation and environmental organizations, and other stakeholders.

The overall ambition of our work is to foster Sustainable Forest Management, ranging from planning of sustainable harvesting operations to assessing the impact of forest management on the flux dynamics within forest ecosystems or climate change impacts on forest ecosystem services. We combine a strong portfolio of methods and data to address scientific knowledge gaps, respond to demands of stakeholders and emerging topics. Integrating topics, methods and data, we develop and refine forest management concepts worldwide to provide optimized solutions for the provision of forest ecosystem services.

quality management system

To strengthen our efforts we have committed ourselves to the implementation and maintenance of a quality management system according to the standards of ISO 9001:2015. This quality management system assists us in improving our performance and accounting for the changing demands of our stakeholders (e.g., students, research institutions, funding agencies, forest enterprises, the general public).

Six key-processes were defined:

  • Planning and performing of
    national and international research projects
  • Planning and performing of lectures
  • Selection, planning and supervising of PhD
  • Selection, planning and supervising of master theses
  • Selection, planning and supervising of bachelor theses
  • Community Services

Wälder bedecken etwa 33% der Europäischen Landfläche und sind auch in Österreich eine sehr bedeutende Landnutzungsform (47.6% Waldanteil). Unsere Gesellschaft hat zahlreiche Ansprüche an den Wald, die unter der Wirtschafts-, der Schutz-, der Wohlfahrts- sowie der Erholungsfunktion zusammengefasst werden können. Wälder spielen auch eine entscheidende Rolle im weltweiten Klimawandel, da sie direkt von klimatischen Veränderungen betroffen sind, aber auch die Effekte des Klimawandels abmindern können. Ohne die Kohlenstoffaufnahme in den Wäldern wäre nämlich die globale Konzentration von Kohlenstoffdioxid in der Atmosphäre um etwa 30% höher. Produkte aus nachhaltiger Waldbewirtschaftung gelten als erneuerbare Ressourcen und können Treibhausgasemissionen verhindern, wenn sie Produkte ersetzen, die aus fossilen Rohstoffen hergestellt wurden.

Der Begriff Nachhaltigkeit eingeführt vor mehr als 300 Jahren im 18. Jahrhundert von Hans Carl von Carlowitz berücksichtigte seinerzeit vor allem die nachhaltige Holzproduktion. Heute muss die Waldbewirtschaftung verschiedenste Waldfunktionen, Produkte und Dienstleistungen nachhaltig sicherstellen. Waldbauliche Maßnahmen erlauben unsere Wälder in einem günstigen Zustand zu halten oder deren Entwicklung in eine gewünschte Richtung zu lenken. Die nicht immer kompatiblen Zielsetzungen werden durch Nutzungskonzepte gesichert, die waldbauliche Daten mit Modellkonzepten verknüpfen, abhängig von den jeweiligen Erfordernissen hinsichtlich der räumlichen Lage wie auch der zeitlichen Entwicklung.

Das Institut für Waldbau an der Universität für Bodenkultur in Wien ist die einzige akademische Institution Österreichs, die sich aktiv mit Ausbildung und Forschung zum Thema Waldmanagement beschäftigt. Innerhalb des Kompetenzfeldes „Bodennutzung und Landökosysteme“ an der BOKU entwickelt das Institut für Waldbau Managementkonzepte um die unterschiedlichen Bedürfnisse der Gesellschaft an Waldökosystemen nachhaltig zu sichern und integriert dabei Ökologie, Technik und Sozio-Ökonomie. Unsere Arbeit verknüpft dabei die Interessen von Forstbetrieben, politische Entscheidungsträgern, Naturschutzverbände und andere Akteure.

Schlüssel und Motivation unserer Arbeit ist die Stärkung der nachhaltigen Bewirtschaftung unserer Wälder, die von der waldbaulichen Planung, dem Einfluss der Bewirtschaftung auf die Kohlenstoff-Dynamik in Waldökosystemen bis hin zu der Erforschung von Klimawandelfolgen reicht. Wir kombinieren wissenschaftliche Methoden mit Daten um unser Wissen und Verständnis von Waldökosystem zu verbessern und um Antworten auf die Bedürfnisse von Stakeholder und zu aktuellen Themen anzubieten. Durch die konzeptuelle Verknüpfung von Themen, Methoden und Daten, können wir weltweit helfen waldbauliche Managementkonzepte für optimale Lösungen für die geforderten Ökosystemdienstleistungen zu entwickeln.

Qualitätsmanagementsystem nach ISO 9001:2015

                              
Um die Ziele in Forschung und Lehre wirksam zu erreichen, hat das Institut für Waldbau ein auf ständige Leistungsverbesserung ausgerichtetes Qualitätsmanagementsystem (QMS) nach ISO 9001:2015 eingeführt und verwirklicht.

Im Zentrum der Bemühungen steht die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung einer international konkurrenzfähigen Forschung und Lehre. Von diesem ausgehend wurden die folgenden sechs Schlüsselprozesse definiert:

  1. Planung und Durchführung von
    nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten
  2. Planung und Durchführung von
    Lehrveranstaltungen
  3. Auswahl, Planung und Betreuung von Dissertationen
  4. Auswahl, Planung und Betreuung von Masterarbeiten
  5. Auswahl, Planung und Betreuung von Bachelorarbeiten
  6. Community Services durchführen
    (z.B.: Gutachtertätigkeit, Mitwirkung in Gremien, Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen abhalten)

Lesen Sie hier weiter: Institutsgrundsätze