Institute's principles


  1. We enhance the Institute's areas of expertise by working on current research questions. This work is characterized by using innovative methods, an international focus, interdisciplinary work and a problem oriented attitude.
                              
  2. We maintain international contacts and academic exchange through the hosting of scientists and foreign students, by participating in international committees, attending conferences as well as by cooperating with other research institutions. Applied cooperative research projects with partners in developing countries and the advice of scientific institutions are part of our international activities.
                      
  3. Results of our research and development activities are presented in seminars and publications to the general public. Besides this they are constantly used to improve the institute's scientific knowledge and are integrated into our teaching and other education activities.
                                      
  4. The institute's primary objective in teaching is to ensure that students acquire the capabilities needed for an ecosystem-based approach to forest management. They should be able to maintain, regenerate, tend and harvest stands. Results of our research and development activities are integrated into our courses.
                        
  5. We support students during the realization of their theses (Master, Bachelor and Seminar thesis) and convey holistic approaches and creative scientific solutions to them.
                      
  6. Employees of the Institute contribute to the self-governance of the University and co-create thus the general framework for research and education.
                                         
  7. The core of the human resource policy of the Institute is to promote the personal development of the institute's staff by supporting attendance to conferences, seminars, workshops and individual appraisal interviews.
                                       
  8. We are committed to a respectful communication with each other. Due to the high personal commitment of our employees we are capable of extraordinary team- and individual performances.
                                  
  9. We respect and follow the scientific and ethical rules of the "Scientific Community" and are committed to perform our scientific work on a high level.
                     
  10. We continuously improve our processes to the benefit of our stakeholders. Wishes, suggestions and complaints made by involved parties as well as our self-reflection and regular internal audits serve as the basis for this improvement.

Institutsgrundsätze


  1. Wir bemühen uns um die Weiterentwicklung der am Institut vertretenen Fachgebiete durch die Bearbeitung aktueller Forschungsfragen. Diese Forschungsaktivitäten sind gekennzeichnet durch innovative Methodenentwicklung, Internationalität, Interdisziplinarität  und Problemorientierung.
                              
  2. Wir pflegen internationale Kontakte und wissenschaftlichen Austausch durch die Aufnahme von Gastwissenschafterinnen und -wissenschaftern und Studierenden, die Teilnahme an Tagungen und Konferenzen, die Mitarbeit in Gremien sowie durch die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Forschungsinstitutionen. Angewandte kooperative Forschungsvorhaben mit Partnern in Entwicklungsländern und die Beratung wissenschaftlicher Einrichtungen sind ein weiterer Teil unserer internationalen Aktivitäten.
                           
  3. Die Ergebnisse unserer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten werden in Veröffentlichungen und Seminaren der Allgemeinheit zugänglich gemacht und dienen der kontinuierlichen Verbesserung und Dokumentation der Wissensbasis des Institutes. Es ist dies auch die Grundlage unserer forschungsangeleiteten Lehre.
                           
  4. In unseren Lehrveranstaltungen wird das notwendige Wissen für die Erhaltung, Pflege, Erneuerung, Sanierung und Nutzung von Waldökosystemen vermittelt. Die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten werden in der Lehre umgesetzt und weitergegeben.
                          
  5. Wir gewährleisten Studierenden bei der Durchführung von Abschlussarbeiten (Diplom-, Master-, Bakkalaureats- und Seminararbeiten) einen Rahmen für qualitativ hochwertige Tätigkeiten. Dabei wollen wir die Fähigkeit zur ganzheitlichen Problembetrachtung und die Kompetenz zur kreativen Lösung vermitteln.
                             
  6. Die Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen nehmen im Rahmen ihrer Tätigkeiten am Institut für Waldbau an der Selbstverwaltung der Universität teil und können so die Rahmenbedingungen für Forschung und Lehre mitgestalten.
                        
  7. Die kontinuierliche persönliche Weiterbildung des Institutspersonals durch die Teilnahme an Konferenzen, Seminaren, Mitarbeiter- und Fachgesprächen ist Kernpunkt der Personalpolitik des Instituts.
                              
  8. In unserem Zusammenarbeiten fühlen wir uns zu einem respektvollen und offenen Umgang miteinander verpflichtet. Durch den hohen persönlichen Einsatz der Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen sind wir zu außerordentlichen Team- und Einzelleistungen fähig.
                           
  9. Zu unserem Selbstverständnis gehört es, dass wir uns den wissenschaftlichen/ ethischen Regeln der "Scientific Community" verpflichtet fühlen sowie unsere Ziele und Aufgaben auf hohem wissenschaftlichem Niveau verfolgen.
                      
  10. Die für die Erfüllung unserer Aufgaben notwendigen Prozesse werden zum Nutzen der interessierten Parteien kontinuierlich verbessert. Die Grundlage dafür sind die Wünsche, Vorschläge und Beschwerden der interessierten Parteien sowie unsere Selbstreflexion, das regelmäßige Durchführen interner Audits und des Risikomanagements.