drinking water resources


Silvicultural concepts for the protection of drinking water resources

Forest ecosystems contribute on a high level to the protection of drinking water resources and to the protection from natural hazards. Hence, silvicultural treatment of the forests requires appropriate know-how regarding tree species selection, forest stand structure and measures for maintenance and regeneration. Especially forests with multi-layered crown structures, soil vegetation cover and tree species, which are able to develop deep rooting systems, mitigate the soil eroding force of intensive precipitation events and are also able to store high amounts of precipitation water. The management of drinking water protection forests has to consider the required surrounding conditions, in order that the numerous springs provide cool drinking water throughout the whole year.

In order to fulfil these requirements, a hydrotope-model was created based on the publications of Engel (1996) and Gurtz et al. (1999), which was adapted to the specific demands of drinking water protection. By the means of this model, huge watershed areas can be stratified. For each hydrotope, silvicultural guidelines were defined, having the improvement of the water protection functionality of the forest stands as overall purpose.

 
 
The GIS-based hydrotope model is a tool, which provides the utilization of capacious information categories for the deduction of forest management concepts for drinking water protection in an operational way.

Within low mountain ranges and the Alps, forests gain additional importance within the context of flood prevention and the protection against alpine hazards.

projects

  • Forestry basics for a decision support system and management guidelines for a sustainable assurance of drinking-water resources within multiple-purpose forestry (land-use) on Carbonate stands.
    This project was fulfilled in the course of the "KATER II"-program (KArst waTER research program, INTERREG III B CADSES, funded by the EDRF).
    more ...
  • Effects of sivicultural techniques on the water-balance and the element-dynamics in characteristic stands (silvicultural treatments) of the watershed protection forests of the city of Vienna.
    more ...
  • Models of vegetation-succession under the influence of climate change and land-use change and its consequences to the karstic water balance within the water protection zone of the City of Vienna (A) subalpine and alpine vegetation part, (B) forests part.
    more ...
  • Investigations about soil water balance and runoff characteristics of carbonatic sites within the water protection zone of the City of Vienna. Differentiation according to characteristic forest types.
    more ...
  • Elaboration and practical service of silvicultural methods for selected "Weiserbestände" in the protection forests of the forest management unit Wildalpen.
    more ...

Trinkwasserresourcen


Waldbaukonzepte für den Schutz von Trinkwasserresourcen

Waldökosysteme tragen in besonderem Maße zur Sicherung der Trinkwasserversorgung und zum Schutz vor Naturgefahren bei. Die Bewirtschaftung der Wälder erfordert daher entsprechendes Know How bezüglich Baumartenwahl, Bestockungsaufbau und Maßnahmen zur Pflege und Verjüngung. Besonders Wälder mit vielschichtig aufgebautem Kronendach, Bodenbewuchs und intensiv wurzelnden Baumarten mindern die bodenabtragende Kraft von Niederschlägen und können große Wassermengen speichern. Die Bewirtschaftung von Quellenschutzwäldern muss den erforderlichen Rahmenbedingungen gerecht werden, damit die zahlreichen Quellen ein über den Jahresverlauf gleichmäßiges Aufkommen von kühlem, in der Temperatur wenig schwankendem Trinkwasser spenden können.

Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, wurde aufbauend auf die Arbeiten von Engel (1996) und Gurtz et al. (1999) ein Hydrotop-Modell kreiert, welches an die spezifischen Herausforderungen eines umfassenden Quellenschutzes angepasst wurde. Mit diesem Modell können großräumige Einzugsgebiete stratifiziert werden. Für jedes der Hydrotope wurden waldbauliche Richtlinien definiert, welche die Verbesserung der Quellenschutzfunktion der Waldbestände zum Ziel haben.

 
 
 
Das GIS-basierte Hydrotop-Modell stellt ein Werkzeug dar, welches umfassende Informationskategorien zur Ableitung von Management-Maßnahmen zum Trinkwasserschutz operational nutzbar macht.

Im Mittelgebirge und in den Alpen kommt dem Wald zusätzlich erhöhte Bedeutung im Zusammenhang mit dem Schutz von Gebäuden und Infrastruktureinrichtungen vor Hochwassser und alpinen Naturgefahren zu.

Projekte

  • Entwicklung und Stabilität des Wiener Quellenschutzwaldes unter Berücksichtigung der Klimaänderung. Dieses Projekt wird im Rahmen von "CC-WaterS" (Climate Change and Impacts on Water Supply) durchgeführt.
    mehr ...
  • Forstwirtschaftliche Grundlagen für ein Decision-Support-System und Bewirtschaftungsrichtlinien für eine nachhaltige Sicherung von Trinkwasserresourcen im Rahmen einer Mehrzweck-Waldwirtschaft (Landnutzung) auf Karbonatstandorten.
    Dieses Projekt wird im Rahmen von "KATER II" (KArst waTER research program) durchgeführt.
    mehr ...
  • Auswirkungen waldbaulicher Maßnahmen auf den Wasserhaushalt und die Elementedynamik in charakteristischen Bestandestypen (Behandlungstypen) der Quellenschutzwälder der Stadt Wien.
    mehr ...
  • Modelle der Vegetationsentwicklung unter veränderten Nutzungs- und Klimaverhältnissen und ihre Auswirkung auf den Karstwasserhaushalt in den Quelleinzugsgebieten der Stadt Wien; Teilgebiet Hochlagenvegetation (A), Teilgebiet Wald (B)
    mehr ...
  • Untersuchungen zu Bodenwasserhaushalt und Abflußverhalten von karbonatischen Standorten im Quellschutzgebiet der Stadt Wien. Differenzierung nach unterschiedlichen forstlichen Bestockungstypen.
    mehr ...
  • Ausarbeitung, Durchführung und Evaluierung von waldbaulichen Behandlungsplänen in den Quellenschutzwäldern der Stadt Wien am Beispiel ausgewählter Weiserbestände.
    mehr ...