e-mail: mathias.neumann(at)boku.ac.at

phone: +43 / 1 / 47654 - 4059 (new: 91319)
fax: +43 / 1 / 47654 - 4092 (new: 91309)

Institute of Silviculture (Institut für Waldbau)
Department of Forest- and Soil Sciences
BOKU - University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna
A-1190 Wien, Peter Jordanstr. 82

room: 02/136 (Schwackhöferhaus, 2nd floor)

Mathias Neumann

... is currently as an Erwin Schrödinger Fellow doing a research stay at the Swinburne University of Technology in Melbourne, Australia. Building upon his PhD-thesis and ongoing projects Mathias Neumann is there investigating the carbon uptake of woodlands. These are in comparison to Central European forests relatively open forest ecosystems with abundant shrubs and grasses in the understory.

The research focus of Mathias Neumann is the quantification of carbon stocks and carbon pools of terrestrial ecosystems. Better understanding these processes is not only important for global climate change, but also for the assessment of available resources for the bioeconomy.

Mathias Neumann has been employed since 2012 at the institute of silviculture as a research assistant and finalized his PhD-thesis in September 2016 entitled "Estimating net primary production using remote sensing and terrestrial forest inventory data". He was working on the research project FORMIT ("FORest management strategies to enhance the MITigation potential of European forests") on the assessment of carbon storage and forest productivity using terrestrial inventory data, satellite data and the results of biogeochemical modell simulations (Biome BGC).

He has a diploma degree in "Mountain Risk Engineering" at the Universität für Bodenkultur (topic of the thesis: "Spatial and temporal reconstruction of debris flow activity in alpine catchments"). 

BOKU - Research Information System (FIS)

further information about Mathias Neumann
visit our "BOKU - Forschungsinformationssystem (FIS)"
                          

courses

Mathias Neumann

all courses in academic year
are to be found in BOKUonline

DI Dr. Mathias Neumann (Karenziert)


          
e-mail: mathias.neumann(at)boku.ac.at

Tel: +43 / 1 / 47654 - 91319
Fax: +43 / 1 / 47654 - 91309

Institut für Waldbau
Peter Jordanstr. 82
A-1190 Wien
                 
Zimmer-Nr.: 02/136 (Schwackhöferhaus)

Mathias Neumann

.... befindet sich derzeit im Rahmen eines Erwin-Schrödinger-Stipendiums auf einem Auslandsaufenthalt an der Swinburne University of Technology in Melbourne, Australian. Aufbauend auf seine Dissertation und laufende Projekte beschäftigt sich Mathias Neumann vor Ort mit der Kohlenstoffaufnahme von sogenannten Woodlands. Das sind Waldökosysteme, die im Vergleich zu mitteleuropäischen Wäldern relativ offen sind und reichlich Sträucher und Gräser in der Unterschicht aufweisen.

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt von Mathias Neumann liegt in der Quantifizierung von Kohlenstoffvorrat und Kohlenstoffflüssen von terrestrischen Ökosystemen. Ein besseres Verständnis dieser Prozesse ist nicht nur hinsichtlich des globalen Klimawandels von großer Bedeutung, sondern auch wichtig für die Bewertung der Ressourcenverfügbarkeit für die Bioökonomie.

Mathias Neumann hat seit 2012 am Institut für Waldbau als Doktorand gearbeitet und im September 2016 seine Dissertation zum Thema "Estimating net primary production using remote sensing and terrestrial forest inventory data" abgeschlossen. Er war unter anderem im Rahmen des FORMIT-Projektes mit Kohlenstoff-Schätzwerten für Waldstandorte beschäftigt. Er arbeitet dabei mit der Verknüpfung von Inventurdaten, satelliten-gestützten Daten und Simulationsergebnissen des biogeochemisch-mechanistischen Ökosystemmodelle wie Biome BGC.

Mathias Neumann hat zuvor mit seiner Diplomarbeit zum Thema "Räumliche und zeitliche Rekonstruktion der Murgangaktivität für alpine Einzugsgebiete - eine dendrogeomorphologische Fallstudie" das Masterstudium "Mountain Risk Engineering" an der Universität für Bodenkultur abgeschlossen. 

                           

BOKU - Forschungsinformationssystem

weitere Informationen zu Mathias Neumann
finden Sie im Forschungsinformationssystem (FIS)
                       

Lehre

Mathias Neumann

das aktuelle Lehrveranstaltungsangebot
finden Sie in BOKUonline